Winner of the 2019 Saunders Prize

The AACL is pleased to inform all members of the awarding of the 2019 Cheryl Saunders Prize for Excellence in Scholarship in Constitutional Law to Mr Kieran Pender for an article entitled ‘“Silent Members of Society”? Public Servants and the Freedom of Political Communication in Australia’. 

The Saunders Prize is named in honour of Laureate Professor Cheryl Saunders AO, in recognition of her exceptional eminence in constitutional law and her leadership in the creation of the AACL. The Prize is awarded to the author of an article or note on a subject of constitutional law, published in an Australian legal journal in the preceding calendar year, which reflects the highest standards of research and scholarship, as judged by a Panel consisting of 3 eminent constitutional law scholars or practitioners, appointed for each year by resolution of the Council of the AACL. The judging panel for 2019 comprised the Hon Susan Crennan AC QC, Professor the Hon William Gummow AC and Professor Michael Crommelin AO.