CCCS Conference: Recent Developments in Constitutional Law

Thursday, 19 July, 2012 - 18:30 to Saturday, 21 July, 2012 - 13:00


The Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies is pleased to announce that the following additions to the Recent Developments in Constitutional Law Conference program.

Public Lecture*

Dean's Distinguished Public Lecture Series:

Constitutional Reform by The Hon Nicola Roxon MP, the Attorney-General for the Commonwealth

Thursday 19 July, 6.30pm

GM15 Lecture Theatre, Level 1, Melbourne Law School

For more information and registration for the public lecture, please click here.

*This session is opened to the public and registration is required.


The Future of Rights Protection: Courts and Parliaments (Session Six)**

Harry Jenkins MP, the Chair of the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights is confirmed to join Professor Andrew Byrnes, Ms Kylie Evans and Associate Professor John Tobin  to close the conference in this last session.

Saturday 21 July, 11.30am

G08, Lecture Theatre, Melbourne Law School

**This session is for conference attendees only


About the Conference

The Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies will host a major conference on recent developments in constitutional law from Thursday 19 to  Saturday 21 July 2012.   

The purpose of the conference will be to provide a forum, for the discussion of recent events in constitutional law including the High Court's recent decisions on s 92 of the Constitution, freedom of political communication, the nature of federal executive power, the nationalisation of state courts, the constitutionalisation of administrative law, proposals for constitutional reform and the future of human rights protection. 

The conference will open on the evening of Thursday 19 July with a public lecture by the Hon. Nicola Roxon, Attorney-General for the Commonwealth.  

The conference will also provide the forum of the launch of The Future of Australian Federalism: Comparative and Interdisciplinary Perspectives (edited by Gabrielle Appleby, Nicholas Aroney and Thomas John) by  Roger Wilkins AO, Secretary of the Attorney-General‰Ûªs Department.


Professor Andrew Byrnes
The Hon. Catherine Branson QC
Professor Michael Crommelin AO
Ms Kylie Evans
Professor Simon Evans

Justin Gleeson SC
Harry Jenkins MP
Associate Professor Daniel Meagher
Stephen McLeish SC
Richard Niall SC
Mr Steven Price
Professor Cheryl Saunders AO
Dr Sarah Sorial
Associate Professor James Stellios
Associate Professor John Tobin
Professor Anne Twomey
Roger Wilkins AO


View the Conference Program 

Victorian Barristers may be able to claim CPD points in accordance with the rules of the Victorian Bar.


CCCS Conference registrations are now closed.


If payment cannot be lodged online, please email Jean Goh to confirm payment details at '; // -->


*Please note that registration would not be completed unless both steps are fulfilled.


For enquiries only, please contact Jean Goh.