Trans-Tasman Reflections on COVID-19 and Public Law

Friday, 28 August 2020 - 1:00pm - 2:30pm

This webinar will mark the official launch of the Australia-NZ chapter of the International Society of Public Law, and be co-hosted by the Gilbert + Tobin Centre and AACL. It will draw together experts from Australia and New Zealand to discuss how the governments in their jurisdictions have responded to the COVID-19 pandemic. Among other things, they will consider what has determined the success of responses, what oversight challenges have arisen, and the public law significance (if any) of how the two countries have worked together to respond to the pandemic.

Introduction by Professor Rosalind Dixon, Director of the Gilbert + Tobin Centre for Public Law at UNSW Law, and Co-President of ICON-S 

Speakers (in alphabetical order): 

  • Professor the Hon Kevin Bell AM QC, Director of the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law at Monash University 
  • Associate Professor Claire Charters, University of Auckland Faculty of Law 
  • Associate Professor Dean Knight, Victoria University of Wellington Faculty of Law and Co-Chair of ICON-S AUS-NZ 
  • Professor Adrienne Stone, Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies at Melbourne Law School and President of the International Association of Constitutional Law 
Rapporteur: 
  • Professor Janet McLean QC, University of Auckland Faculty of Law 
Chair: 
  • Professor Sarah Murray, University of Western Australia Faculty of Law and Co-Chair of ICON-S AUS-NZ 
 
The Webinar will be held: 
  • 1:00 – 2:30pm AEST (Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart) 
  • 3:00 – 4:30pm (New Zealand) 
  • 11:00am – 12:30pm (Perth) 
  • 12:30 – 2:00pm (Adelaide, Darwin)